Welcome to Lokaratna Buddha Vihara

The Buddha out of his compassion taught Dhamma for the welfare, happiness and liberation of beings.

This Dhamma in short is Dana (Charity), Sila (Morality), Samadhi (Meditation) and Panya (Wisdom).These form the four pillars of the Dhamma now known as Buddhism. In order to gain the pure conscious state in a scientific manner, it is necessary to pass through the various stages of concentration through Samadhi/Samatha and various stages of purification through Vipassana (Insight).

In order to achieve these, Lokaratna Buddha Vihara offers Buddhist meditation techniques, by Venerable Vinayarakkhita Thera through moral education and character building. There are two main types of Buddhist meditation: vipassana (insight) and samatha (tranquility). The two are combined or used one after the other usually vipissana follows samatha.

Our Services

Buddhist Meditation

Vipassana, which means to see things as they really are, is one of India's most ancient techniques of meditation. It was rediscovered by Gautama Buddha more than 2500 years ago and was taught by him as a universal remedy for universal ills, i.e., an Art of Living.

Buddhist Counselling

Buddhism has always had a counselling and therapeutic role, in the wide sense, in Buddhist communities. Even in the present day, Buddhist monks are turned to for advice, support and counselling by lay Buddhists.

Latest News

  • The Full Moon, which falls in this month of July, is of great importance as it commemorates the significant event that took place in India. On this very Full moon day Buddha set in motion the wheel of Truth (Dhamma) at Isipatana, Sarnath. This discourse came to be known as Dhammachakkapavatta na Sutta.

    Lokaratna Buddha Vihara